USCAP Companion Meeting, February 2006

Sunday, February 12, 2006 — 8:30 a.m.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA

USCAP Ninety-Fifth Annual Meeting.


The Symposium is dedicated to Dr. Conrad Piran

Pathogenesis and Diagnosis of Renal Disease: The Essential Role of Ultrastructural Investigation

 Handouts (pdf, 279kb)

Moderators: V. Nickeleit, MD, University of North Carolina, Department of Pathology, Nephropathology Laboratory, Chapel Hill, NC; and J. Lloreta, MD, PhD, Hospital del Mar and Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Department of Pathology, Barcelona, Spain.

Memorial tribute to Dr. Conrad Pirani - V. D'Agati, MD, Department of Pathology, College of Physicians & Surgenos of Columbia University, New York, NY

The diagnostic utility of negative-staining electron microscopy for the detection of polyomavirus infections in the urine: a comparative analysis of electron microscopy, conventional cytology, and PCR - S. Singh, MD, The University of North Carolina, Department of Pathology, Chapel Hill, NC

The contribution of quantitative techniques including morphometry to renal diagnosis - M. Kashgarian, MD, Yale University, Dep. of Pathology, New Haven, CT

Plasticity of mesangial cells: a basis for understanding pathological alterations - G. A. Herrera, MD, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center, Department of Pathology, Shreveport, LA

Modulation of autoimmune glomerulonephritis in a murine model: key role of ultrastructural evaluation - J. Hicks, MD, Texas Children's Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

Cryo-electron microscopy of organs, cells, and cellular components - J. Costello, PhD, The University of North Carolina, Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, Chapel Hill, NC

Three dimensional structure of the glomerular slit diaphragm as revealed by electron tomography - K. Tryggvason MD, PhD, Karolinska Institute, Department of Medical Biochemistry and Biophysics, Division of Matrix Biology, Stockholm, Sweden

The session has been planned by the program organizing committees of the Renal Pathology Society (V. Nickeleit, chair, and C. Alpers and H.J. Groene) and the Society for Ultrastructural Pathology (J. Lloreta, chair, and G. Herrera and J. Hicks)